THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT SAN ANTONIO

DOCUMENTS AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE GENERAL FACULTY

SUMMARY MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE MEETING of March 19, 2015

The regular monthly meeting of the Faculty Senate for the 2014-2015 academic year was held March 19, 2015, at 3:30 p.m. in the Regent's Room (MB 3.106) with Dr. Karen Daas, Chair of the Faculty Senate, presiding.

I. Call to order and taking of attendance

Present: Diane Abdo, Emily Bonner, Pepe Chang, Fengxin Chen, Karen Daas, Samer Dessouky, Glenn Dietrich, Jim Dykes, Martha Fasci, Yongli Gao, Edgar Ghossoub, Mark Giles, Vaidya Gundlupet, Robert Hard, Richard Harris, Jill Hernandez, Turgay Korkmaz, Richard Lewis, Chad Mahood, Patricia McGee, Debbie Menger, Joycelyn Moody, Michael Moyer, Wing Chung Ng, Anand Ramasubramanian, Libby Rowe, Elaine Sanders, Rebekah Smith, Rob Tillyer, Alistair Welchman, Christopher Wickham, Bennie Wilson, John Zhang

Absent: David Akopian, Armando Arciniega, Karan Bhanot, Rajesh Bhargave, James Dawes, Suat Gunhan (excused), Harry Jarrett, Randall Manteufel, Marian Martinello (excused), Ashok Nedungadi (excused), John Nix, Chris Packham, Antonio Petrov (excused), Clyde Phelix, Derek Plantenga (excused), Branco Ponomariov, Lloyd Potter, Dan Sass, Teresa Sellers (excused), Howard Smith

Guests: Ron Ellis (for John Nix), John Frederick, Sandy Norman, Jorge Solis (for Howard Smith), Sarah Soulek, Ram Tripathi (for Dan Sass), Diane Walz

Total members present: 33 Total members absent: 20

II. Approval of the February 26, 2015 meeting minutes

The minutes were unanimously approved.

III. Reports

A. Chair of the Faculty Senate – Karen Daas

Dr. Daas said that feedback on HOP 10.03 Organized Research Units is due March 30th. She said that any additional bylaw revisions will be posted to Rowdyspace after the next executive meeting for senators to view in advance of the April senate meeting. She said that she is now serving as chair of the EARN committee, and encouraged senators to send her their feedback on the system. Dr. Daas mentioned some recent computer security issues and told everyone if they notice anything

suspicious to contact OIT immediately. She notified the senate that executive committee elections would take place at the April meeting. A prepared ballot will be distributed, at which time additional nominations may be accepted from the floor. Dr. Daas explained that there is a "documents" folder on Rowdyspace containing a report on average salary distributions across different institutions as well as a report on the use of funds after faculty lines were swept last year. Lastly, Dr. Daas encouraged everyone to attend the upcoming faculty mixers:

- Downtown Wed, April 8th 5-7pm Fourth Floor Terrace (via FS 4.452)
- Main campus Thurs, May 7th 5-7pm Faculty Center

B. Secretary of the General Faculty – Jill Hernandez

Dr. Hernandez said that the U.S. Senate approved SB 17 this week (which allows open carry). She said that SB 11 has a section which denies higher institutions the ability to opt out of campus carry. She urged everyone to contact their Senators and voice their opinions on this matter. In addition, HB937 campus carry is currently in committee but no date has been set yet for a public hearing. Dr. Hernandez said that the next University Assembly meeting will be on April 8th and a marketing plan for Blueprint 2020 will be discussed. She said that the next SYSFAC meeting is in April. The Texas Council of Faculty Senates recently held panels on the role of Texas Tribune (and media) on issues that relate to higher education; Collegiality, Bullying, and Academia (Trinity's Faculty Code of Conduct); the role of faculty ombudspersons; and AAUP and Higher Education. In addition, data from the various UT System campuses was compared with regard to salary, merit, and climate surveys. There was also more information released regarding UTPA's realignment (see report for full details).

C. Provost's Report – John Frederick

Dr. Frederick extended a welcome to the new Dean of the Graduate School, DeBrenna Agbenyiga and the new Vice President for Business Affairs, Kathy Funk-Baxter.

D. Consent Calendar – Elaine Sanders

Dr. Sanders announced that the MS in Data Analytics had been approved by the Graduate School, with some revisions. For more information on this proposal, contact Dr. Sanders.

E. Curriculum Committee – Alistair Welchman

Dr. Welchman said that the Curriculum Committee reviewed a request for the removal of restrictions on Military Science Courses. Currently a maximum of 9 hours can be applied to a BA degree from Military Science Courses (toward free electives). The Associate Dean's Council supported the removal of this restriction. The curriculum committee's recommendation is that the senate approve this request (and lift the restriction). There was some discussion on whether the current restrictions could possibly increase the number of credit hours needed for students

to graduate if cadets want to be commissioned. As more information is needed, there was a motion to table the vote until the next senate meeting which was seconded and unanimously approved.

F. HOP Committee – Robert Hard

Dr. Hard said that the HOP committee reviewed HOP 2.23 Faculty Compensation for Additional Duties and Salary Adjustments. The committee suggested some minor changes to further clarify the policy. Some members of the senate proposed friendly amendments which were accepted. There was a question regarding the potential limits on faculty productivity if the amount of summer salary earned from UTSA sources cannot exceed 1/3 of the 9 month salary, as stated in the current policy. Dr. Daas said she would follow-up on this issue. All other committee recommendations (and friendly amendments) were voted on and unanimously approved.

IV. Unfinished Business

There was no unfinished business.

V. New Business

There was no new business.

VI. Open Forum

Dr. Daas encouraged everyone who was interested to serve on the EARN committee. Contact Dr. Daas for more information.

Dr. Smith shared her enthusiasm as a member of the VPBA search committee for the new Vice President for Business Affairs, Kathy Funk-Baxter.

VII. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn was made, seconded, and unanimously passed at 4:48 pm.